The Lacquer Legion, Reinvention….

There is a new fun nail art group called the Lacquer Legion put together by Chalkboard Nails, Work/Play/Polish, Rebecca Likes Nails and The Nailasaurus, this months theme is “Reinvention”. I was pretty stumped for ideas on this, so I searched what came up on pinterest for the word “reinvention”. It seems when you use something for a different purpose than what it was intended for, that’s reinvention. Or when you reinvent a look or yourself.

So what a perfect time to use something I had been saving, a piece of lizard skin…..ew right? But he’s a nice lizard, an Eastern Water Dragon (from the east coast of Australia), he joins me on my dinner break at work most nights and since they shed their skin each year, was kind enough to let me use it!  Hey if he doesn’t want his skin anymore, I’ll have it! Source photo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You might know that I like sticking things on my nails, cheating maybe, but really is it any different from using flocking powder, studs or glequins? I stuck the skin onto fake nails to achieve a pointed claw shape look and so I wasn’t stuck with lizard skin nails!

Lizard skin 1

So what do you think? I’m hoping lizards are disease free, if not I have Lizard-itis by now! Be sure to check out all the other reinvention manis on the Lacquer Legion facebook page or use the hashtag #LLreinvention, thanks for looking. Hope to see more of you join next month’s challenge if you have missed this one.

 

19 Comments

Filed under Fake nails, Fun!, Lacquer Legion

19 responses to “The Lacquer Legion, Reinvention….

  1. and this is why i love your blog!

  2. Wow that is amazing! Looks very realistic :)

  3. Amazed as always by your ideas and ingenuity!

  4. wow. lizard skin nails are definitely something i’ve never seen before. i’m loving the originality people are putting in to this challenge!

  5. Wow! This looks really cool, and DEFINITELY unique :)

  6. This is awesome!!! How creative and just AWESOME! I showed my hubby and he thought they were cool too

  7. This mani is pretty bad ass!

  8. That is the friggin coolest thing I’ve ever seen!!

  9. Send that lizard my way!

  10. Pingback: BYS Glitter Dust for Nails

Leave a Reply

