Stone age nails…

IMG_8676 - Copy

My first thoughts for this theme were Flintstones or a cave painting, but others had the same idea. So it was back to the drawing board, so to speak, then it hit me….stone spear tipped nails! But could I pull it off? I needed false nails and long ones, all I could find in my local shops were average length ones. So I bought the longest ones I could find and when I played around with them, found that they fit inside each other, size wise.

So I measured what size for each nail and glued one size smaller inside to make the nail longer. Then I applied at least 2 thick coats of dark grey creme nail polish. When dry I started to cut chunks out of the sides with nail clippers and tried to keep in mind the image of a stone spear tip. I then filed the edges, if you ever file fake nails, do it outside, the dust is horrible. While looking at pictures of spear tips as reference, I painted with acrylic paint lights and darks to imitate where pieces might have been chipped out. Time to apply…the glue supplied with the fake nails seemed like super glue and said would hold for seven days!!! I did not want these babies on for that amount of time, so I put masking tape on my real nails and then glued the fake nails over the top. To complete the look I found some old string and held it in place at the back of each finger with PVA (Elmer’s) glue, only for the time it took to take the photos.

Maybe one day I’ll do a tutorial for this…

16 Comments

Filed under Time periods

16 responses to “Stone age nails…

  1. I just had to pick my jaw up off the floor. AMAZING!

  2. Oh, my goodness! There aren’t even words…

  3. really??? wat an imagination dear. Way to go. Taking that much pain and enthu. If I ever host a nail art challenge you will be by first invite.

  4. Wow those are super awesome! great job!

  5. Andra Kat

    omg <3<3<3

  6. So amazing and they look so real!

  7. nailcrazy69

    O M G… what a great idea, and performance, of course *.*

Leave a Reply

