Renaissance…

IMG_9595 - Copy Mona Lisa

To me the Renaissance is all about art, so I thought I would try to paint the Mona Lisa, ambitious project I know! I used fake nails for this and watercolour paint. My dad asked me had if I had been cheating and just photocopied her and stuck her on….thanks for your vote of confidence, Dad! I painted straight onto the nails, no decals, no photocopying. I did use one of those magnifying glass/lights though. I did nearly give up on this project because at one point she was crossed eyed and frowning, but I think I was too!!! Each time I went to fix her more paint would come off, so I learnt you have to seal each layer, for this I used matte top coat. Watercolour is such a flexible medium on nails, if you don’t like it or make a mistake it comes right off. It is also so easy to blend one colour into another, I would not have been able to achieve this look with acrylic paint. And yes…this did take quite a few hours, over a few days, but it was fun!

Mona_Lisa

Just for comparison, here she is. The other nails are snippets of the background landscape, none of them are accurate, but my loose interpretation.

 

16 Comments

Filed under Time periods

16 responses to “Renaissance…

  1. I am blown away by this mani. This is AMAZING!!! You did a wonderful job😀

  2. That looks awesome, I can’t believe you stuck to it for so long! I would have just given up in frustration😄

  3. Wow awesome job on this! It looks amazing!

  4. Wow, this is jaw dropping!!!! Great job you did there!!!!

  5. Amazing! I can’t believe how perfect
    these look!

  6. Dammmn, these look amazing! Well done!!

  7. michelle

    Holy cannoli, this is completely amazing. Amazing!

  8. How how how how how do you do this??!?!?!?!!! Amazing.

  9. Thanks for your lovely comments everyone!!

  10. WOW!! That is soooo impressive!

  11. This is ridiculously amazing!!!!

  12. you’re so incredibly talented!! you did an amazing job!!

Leave a Reply

