Les Miserables…

Les Miserables

Today in Llama land we visit the theme Musicals, I stumbled across this image when I was researching for Literature, but knew straight away I wanted to use it for musicals.  I have never seen this musical or read the book, but I have seen the movie, which I enjoyed very much. So on fake nails, painted with a base of white polish, I used watercolour paint to paint in a little Cosette. I had to redo her about 3 times as she kept coming out in the wrong place on the nail. (Love watercolour…. have I said that?!) Her face was not too hard as it is quite rounded and childlike with simple small features. If you compare mine to the picture below, you will notice that it is not perfect and mine looks like a different little girl! I tried to paint in the cross hatching from the book cover, but that just didn’t work, so I shaded gently with the paint. Her shoulders were the hardest part and they took me ages. Lasty I wanted to have the flag just wisping through, but not being overly dominant in the scene. Then I sealed all the nails with matte top coat. I nearly forgot to say I used one of those giant magnifying glass/light thingies, no way I could see to paint such tiny lines with my eyes!

les-mis-300x154

6 Comments

Filed under Nerd Challenge

6 responses to “Les Miserables…

  1. This is breathtaking !! I also wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Blog Your Hear Out award, http://colorfulcupcakecat.blogspot.com/2013/08/blog-your-heart-out-award.html.

Leave a Reply

