Frida Kahlo…

As usual I was stumped for what to do on this one. Frida painted lots of self portraits and I think she unfairly represented herself with one big eyebrow or maybe she just wanted to exaggerate this prominent feature of hers. I did want to try to get away from painting a portrait, I’ve never really painted portraits before and so tiny! Maybe the more I do the better I’m getting at them, as I think this one actually looks like her.

Frida Kahlo

On fake nails I painted two coats of OPI My Vampire Is Buff (what a great colour!) Then I sponged tiny blobs of light and dark grey, aqua and a bit more MVIB. I painted in the outline of the leaves and face in brown watercolour paint, traces of this can be still seen. Then with all the appropriate green polishes I filled in the leaf shapes, this took a few coats in places. The face is also painted with MVIB and Essence “Nude It!”. Luckily I had some fake tattoos of fairies that were holding flowers, so I cut the tiniest piece of flower off and soaked it in water and stuck into a layer of MVIB.  Added a few pink polish touches to the lips, cheeks and flowers, some black polish for her hair and eyebrow! A matte top coat and was done! Here is the painting that inspired me, I believe its called “Self Portrait II” 6a00d8341c528b53ef0120a5daff14970c-500wi

Up next in the Artist challenge is MC Escher, oh so hard!!

10 Comments

Filed under Artists Challenge, handpainted nail art

10 responses to “Frida Kahlo…

  1. thebubblybrunette

    Amazing job! I love this🙂

  2. Wow………so so so neat…..🙂❤

  3. Kattbelly

    Wow! just wow!

Leave a Reply

