Edgar Degas….

Impressionism is one of my favourite art styles and Degas often used my favourite medium, pastels! It was hard to chose a work of his that would translate to nails. I thought this one, “Dancer Tilting” would, but I can’t say I’m too happy with the final result.

dancer-tilting

I wanted to capture the marks made by the pastels, but with a brush and nail polish this proved quite hard.

Degas

On fake nails I started with a bronze base to mimic the undertone of the paper. I then sketched in the dancer and some details in watercolour paint and filled it all in with various coloured nail polishes. After a couple of coats of matte top coat, it was all looking a bit muddy, so I went back in with the watercolour and added details in black, dark brown and white.

Til next time, when Andy Warhol comes to visit…..

13 Comments

Filed under Alphabet challenge

13 responses to “Edgar Degas….

  1. beachgal

    WOW! this is stunning!

  2. Can’t believe you’re not too happy with the result! This is mind-blowingly incredible. You are truly an artist.

  3. Words fail me! You ALWAYS astound.

  4. michelle

    Gorgeous as always!!❤

  5. This looks completely amazing! It’s perfect!

  6. Incredible! Shared on my FB page, inspiring!

Leave a Reply

