Flocking cow…

Where I live we have a cow, which is not that unusual. The cow’s name is “Trina”, she is 20 years old, is quite tame and likes to get out of her paddock and go wandering. She must then be lured home with bananas or bread. At the beginning of summer it was quite dry and she didn’t have much grass to eat, so I started bringing bread from work home for her. Now she associates my car with food and runs up the paddock if my car stops! So if the cow with personality (or is that cowonality?) wasn’t enough, a month or so before Xmas, a deer turns up to hang out with the cow!!

IMG_2882

We of course named him Rudolf, discovered that the he was in fact a Canadian Elk, would grow really big and possibly be dangerous! Rudolph alternated between hanging out with Trina or some horses up the road, guess he just wanted company and couldn’t decide where he fitted in. I know that this design/theme has been done before, but they are my Trina the Cow nails.

Flocking cow

I have recently bought some flocking powder (somewhat behind in this trend) and thought it’d be a perfect finish for cow print! The cow image is a vintage image from The Graphics Fairy, which I have made into a decal with my super awesome photocopy water slide decal paper,( printed on the clear paper). More about the paper in this post. Rudolph has since been sedated and taken away to live with the rest of his family that he escaped from. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed my cow meets dear story.

18 Comments

Filed under Decal, Flocking powder, Fun!

18 responses to “Flocking cow…

  1. Oh how cute, I love cows! (is that strange?) Your nails look awesome, the flocking powder fits perfectly!

  2. I am scared of cows but this was a lovely post and nails looked great😀

  3. Michelle Spencer

    Aww, loving Trina and her escapades. I thinkit was a good idea having the deer go back. We wouldn’t want him gouging her with his horns when they grow big! Feel free to incorporate her in ur posts every so often in the future! I reckon the flocking powder worked perfectly as a faux hide! Did it last very long?

    • Yes indeed and we live near a highway, which is why we worry about the cow/deer roaming so much. Unfortunately I had to go to work straight after I took the photos, so had to take the cow print off. I did wear the cow to work though, no one seemed to notice😉 Shall do! xx

      On 18 March 2014 02:06, Break rules, not nails wrote:

      >

  4. Haha so funny! Its neat you created a mani from it though.

  5. What a cute story! I have a weakness for interspecies relationships. One of my favorite books is called “Unlikely Friendships” about the subject. I had a cow but he liked to bully me. You could tell it amused him. Cool nails too!

    • Thank you, I will have to check that book out. Just goes to show we all like company no matter what our species. Trina is a bit like that, I think they know, “I’m so much bigger than you, I win!”

  6. I just went through your work for the first time and I must say WOW. You’re so creative, I like your “sticking things on nails”😀 you really do break art rules, I love it

  7. ClaireNPA

    Ah ! Ah ! J’ai vu ta dernière réponse dans ton post précédent. Oh putain ! tu comprends. Mes longues phrases, non. Lol. Sorry for that.
    J’adore ce post. Tout. L’histoire de Trina et de son copain Rudolph.
    By the way, why “We of course named him Rudolf, discovered that the he was in fact a Canadian Elk” ?
    Le nail art est très drôle. Bien sûr on l’a déjà vu, mais on s’en fout. C’est le tien.
    Et puis, tu montres comment une artiste crée. Elle se nourrit de sa vie quotidienne qu’elle sublime en création artistique.
    Derrière ma maison, il y a un bois avec des chevreuils. Tu crois que j’ai pensé une seconde à faire un nail art avec un chevreuil ? Non. Heavy sigh …
    Merci pour le lien vers ton super awesome photocopy water slide decal paper.
    xx

  8. Cuckoo Claire, I’m trying to keep my sentences simple in English. Maybe google translate lost the message here? The meaning is, we called him Rudolph (the red nosed Reindeer), he is a Canadian Elk. It was just the way to say it in English. I’m sure you can find water slide decal paper in France, but you must get the one for your type of photocopier. Either inkjet or laser. How lovely to have deer in the wood behind you!! Beautiful!! Merci for your lovely comment….bisous

Leave a Reply

