Step by step Linderman Island….

Hello lovelies, I don’t know if anyone is interested, but I thought I would show you the steps to painting the Linderman nails. I find it interesting to see others’ work develop and then you think…”So that’s how its done!” My photos are not the greatest, I was too absorbed in painting to get up and use the lightbox. So if you would like to see more step by step in better detail, just let me know and I’ll try to take better photos. I believe ANYONE can learn to paint/draw, its a matter of looking at what you see and knowing how to use your materials.  I apologize for the MASSIVE FONT!!!! Last time I did a step by step it was that small that ants could read it!

Snapshot 2 (5-04-2014 12-45 AM)

I have done this because I needed a base colour to start with and then realised it was way too dark.

Snapshot 3 (5-04-2014 12-58 AM)

I have also used touches of white watercolour. If you work with the paint wet, then the colours run together and blend almost by themselves.

Snapshot 4 (5-04-2014 1-05 AM)

I think I used A-England “St. George”.

Snapshot 5 (5-04-2014 1-11 AM)

This cheap translucent aqua went so well over the blue, it created the perfect tone of tropical water. I usually hate translucent polish, anything more than 2 coats, is one too many!! But this polish showed me how good a translucent polish is.

Snapshot 6 (5-04-2014 1-13 AM)

This was Lilypad Lacquer “Spearmint Leaves”, just released from Mt. Untried.

Snapshot 7 (5-04-2014 1-19 AM)

No special colours were used here, a deep bottle green and a grass green. Nails are starting to look very dark and murky.

Snapshot 8 (5-04-2014 1-22 AM)

Adding some much needed grass green to the land.

Snapshot 9 (5-04-2014 1-23 AM)

Apply the dots as trees in the direct that the land falls. Adding some foreground trees to create distance.

Snapshot 10 (5-04-2014 1-26 AM)

Finally many strokes of colour were sparingly flicked here and there to imitate grass. The trunk of the grass tree is painted in chocolate brown, I find that black is too “hollow” and doesn’t give the look of a three dimensional object. At this point, I really thought about giving up, the grass tree was just not happening. I persevered and really studied the way the leaves were going. I learnt with this picture, less really is more.  A few strokes in the right places made all the difference. Thanks for looking and please let me know what you think. Are you interested to see step by step posts? Did you learn anything? Do you want to see more? Is the format really bad? Is there a better program I could edit in? I don’t mind if your comments are negative, this can just help me improve. I would like to inspire and teach others as much as I can. Til next time….May the polish be with you!

 

11 Comments

Filed under Fake nails, handpainted nail art, Tutorial

11 responses to “Step by step Linderman Island….

  1. ClaireNPA

    Coucou Michelle !

    Etonnant. Incroyable. Formidable. Pour que mon commentaire soit vraiment constructif, je dois y réfléchir à tête reposée et mettre mes réflexions en ordre. Là c’est un vrai bordel :-)))

    Bisous,
    Claire

  2. Nice step by step tutorial! It looks so realistic and like an artwork on your nails.

  3. debra630

    gorgeous! Thank you for the tutorial.

  4. Wow, this looks great and even a step-by-step tutorial *__* Thank you!
    Someday I want to try those kind of landscape manis too ^.^

  5. All of your work is beautiful. Can’t wait to see more tutorials

  6. nailcrazy69

    i’ll definitely try this, but i’m sure that the result won’t be so great…
    but keep on posting tutorials, maybe some of us will learn how to change nails into work of art😀

Leave a Reply

