Game Of Thrones Take 2….

The first time I did this theme I knew I wanted to have a different family shield on each pointed nail, this was just too hard to paint so tiny and so neat. So I have made decals using water slide decal paper  that I printed with my photocopier using this image.

Game Of Thrones logos

If you want to try to make your own decals, make sure to get the correct paper to suit your photocopier. There are two types of paper clear (imagine printing on a clear sheet) and white (like printing on a white sheet of paper). I printed these decals on the white sheet, as there was some white in the design. You also need to seal it if you are using an inkjet printer, I used clear nail polish. I tested what happens if you don’t, the ink just runs off the image when it touches the water. Sealing is not necessary for laser printers so I am told.  You also need to re-size the images using some kind of editing software, I just used the software that came with my printer (HP). To test the image was the correct size for my nail I did quite a few draft copies on normal paper, I really did not want to waste any precious decal paper!

Game Of Thrones 1

I applied each one to a long pointy fake nail, I wish I could have long nails and my current job, but they just don’t go together. The decals are easy to move around when they are wet, once they were in place I pressed them down with a clean dry make-up sponge, which smooths out nearly all the wrinkles, some very tiny ones did remain. When they were dry I hid the edges with nail polish and finally added top coat to smooth it all out.

Game Of Thrones 2

Thanks for looking, soon I’ll have some Steampunk nails and maybe some more punk too.

10 Comments

Filed under Decal, Fun!, Nerd Challenge

10 responses to “Game Of Thrones Take 2….

  1. Ali

    Beautiful as always!

  2. these look amazing! your post makes me want to try creating my own decals!

  3. This is such a neat idea to print your own decals! Your nails look amazing 🙂
    I also wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award – I don’t know if you’ve heard of this or are interested in it, but if you want you can read about it in my blogpost 🙂 You definitely don’t have to participate if you don’t want to though, but I just wanted to let you know because I love your nail art! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Game of Thrones Nail Art Wins Westeros

Leave a comment