Salvador Dali…

Hello out there in lacquer-land, when I think of Dali this painting called “The Persistence of Memory” jumps to mind.

Salvador-Dali-The-Persistence-of-Memory-1931

Once again I have created a step by step collage of these nails, except that I got carried away and forgot to take photos. How much better is this one, luckily I discovered some photo editing software on my computer! S.40770.1380638060.77efe452-7154-42e5-b71c-fd264767275c.collageprintspah_0_A4_0_0_0_2

The only part that is painted with nail polish in the final nails is the dark brown area, the rest is watercolour. Which dries nearly as quickly as polish, so is also a pain to work with sometimes. 

Dali close up

I’m pretty happy with how these turned out, when I thought about recreating this painting I was thinking it would be too hard and detailed. I’ve changed the composition to fit the nails better, but I don’t think Dali would mind and it is Surrealism after all!

Dali 2

Thanks for looking, next up is Jackson Pollock, til next time.

22 Comments

Filed under Artists Challenge, handpainted nail art

22 responses to “Salvador Dali…

  1. Oh my goodness, seriously wow. You are amazingly talented! I don’t think I could come close to recreating that even on a full-sized canvas, never mind on my tiny nails! And I love that painting too, great choice🙂

  2. beachgal

    wow! very impressive!

  3. WOW. Always one of my favorite paintings…this is just…..mind=blown.

  4. Thanks again for sharing the step-by-step…And these are stunning, possibly my favorite yet!

  5. This is probably my favourite piece of art of all times and your recreation is simply amazing!

  6. I don’t know how you can say ‘pretty happy’ – that is incredible and seriously, respect.

    • Ha ha thanks Catherine and yes on looking back I’m very pleased I managed to pull this one off! Sometimes you have ideas and they just don’t come together. This turned out quite easy in the end, its just really a very small landscape and some melting egg like shapes. Thanks again🙂

  7. Ana

    Dali is one of my favourite painters, so it’s an added “WOW!” to the big, fat “WOW!” this get for being so stunning!

    So…

    WOW!

  8. AMAZING!!!! OMG It’s i mean no words really fucking awesome

  9. nailcrazy69

    love dali’s paints, but you’re even better than him, i think he couldn’t handle paintings on such a small surface😉

  10. Pingback: Nail Art A-Go-Go Challenge Day 22: Surrealism | Painted Fingertips

Leave a Reply

